Richards, Kohl earn Bay Conference honors


Chris Caporale,

Shawano junior Kaden Richards, one of the top shooters in the Bay Conference and Division 2 statewide, was named a first-team all-conference selection this week.

Richards converted on 50 percent of his 3-point attempts for the Hawks, who finished one game above .500 at 12-11 overall and 9-5 in the Bay Conference.

Richards averaged 12.6 points per game.

Senior forward Austin Kohl, who can also knock down 3s, was a second-team selection.

“(Kohl) is a really good basketball player just given his size and that he can step inside and out,” Shawano head coach Dave Ambrosius said earlier this season. “When you combine him with the rest of the guys you have around him, he really can be an issue.”

Richards will be one of the key players returning for the Hawks next season, joined by guard Cole Nelson and center Dakota Maltbey.

Xavier’s Hunter Plamann was the conference’s Player of the Year.

Bay Conference

First Team

Hunter Plamann, Xavier; Zack Crockett, Green Bay East; Sam Ferris, Xavier; Alex Zeinert, Menasha; Kaden Richards, Shawano.

Second Team

Tyler Schwartz, West De Pere; Austin Kohl, Shawano; Taylor Rahn, West De Pere; Nate DeYoung, Xavier; Nik Yaeger, Seymour.

Honorable Mention

Will Wohlt, New London; Jake Karchinski, West De Pere; Brayden Kurth, New London; Jacob Everson, Menasha; Trent Blake, Seymour; Riley Murphy, Seymour.