Shawano recognizes fall athletes

Members of 8 sports honored

Shawano Community High School athletes, coaches and family packed The Gathering on Tuesday to honor members of the school’s fall sports.

Coaches reflected upon their seasons and presented awards to varsity athletes, voted on by the players and coaches.


The Hawks ended their season 4-5 and were one win short of making the WIAA playoffs. Seven players earned spots on the Bay Conference first and second teams, along with honorable mention.

Head coach Alan Tomow commended his players for reaching their defensive goal of improving the run defense. The team finished in the middle of the rankings after starting the season at the bottom of the conference.

Senior linebacker Seth Sousek aided in that achievement and earned the top defensive award, most valuable defensive player, along with the overall most valuable player. Sousek also clinched a spot on the all-conference first team.

Senior tackle Dakota Maltbey received the most valuable offensive player. He was also named Bay Conference’s offensive lineman of the year and earned a spot on the all-conference first team.

Junior Steven Hoffman earned the award for most improved player. Senior Jacob Dickmann received the award for rookie of the year.


Shawano’s volleyball team tied for the Bay Conference title after finishing 32-11, 5-2 in conference. The team advanced to the WIAA Division 2 regional final to mark the program’s longest season run since 2010. They also finished undefeated at home and achieved the goal of winning their home invitational.

Five players earned all-conference awards, including outside hitter Averi Vomastic, who earned co-player of the year.

Vomastic, a senior, received the team’s most valuable player award.

Junior outside hitter Julia Klement and junior setter Bayleigh Laabs both earned most valuable offensive players. Both also earned spots on the all-conference first team.

Sophomore libero Kyra Klement received the most valuable defensive player. Junior Tori DePerry was the most improved player.


This year marked head coach Steve Stomberg’s 20th season coaching for Hawks, and eight of his runners earned all-conference awards.

Lydia Beyer earned the girls’ most valuable runner award after making the all-conference first team.

Most dedicated went to Alice Hoffmann and Dayna Besaw was most improved. Sarah Mente earned the coaches award.

On the boys team, all-conference first team member Chase Lhotka earned the most valuable runner award. Ethan Chelberg received most dedicated. Demetrius Kaquatosh was the most improved, and Karsten Anderson received the coaches award.

Boys soccer

Goalie William Bergner earned the top award as most valuable player. Bergner was also one of two players to earn all-conference awards.

Mitchell Jung was the most valuable offensive player, and Marcus Welander was the most valuable defensive player. Wyatt Theis earned most improved, and Caden Tetting was the rookie of the year.

Girls swim

The girls swim season was filled with personal bests. With many new members, the team focused this year on improving individually, and coach Sharon Hanson said the swimmers surpassed her expectations.

Shawano’s Lydia Colon won the most valuable swimmer award for the second consecutive year.

Bonduel’s Peyton Hrabik also won the most valuable swimmer plaque.

Kelsey Kallies took home the most improved award, Nicole Thornock earned the coaches award, and Brittney Angeli won most dedicated.

Girls golf

Shawano advanced to sectionals as a team for the first time under head coach Dean Kuglar. Senior Brianna Zook, who qualified individually for sectionals last year, advanced to the WIAA state championship for her first time.

Zook was named the team’s most valuable golfer for the third consecutive year and earned a spot on the all-conference first team.

Brinley Kowalkowski earned the captain award for the second year in a row and was also named to the all-conference first team. Taylor Johnson was the most improved player.

Girls tennis

Sydney Steinbach and Lydia Williams shared the most valuable player awards and both earned spots on the conference’s second team.

Lydia Dobberstein earned the Rising Star award, and Megan Beaulieu received the Heart of the Hawk award.


Harrison Sturycz earned the award for most valuable. Georgia Eggert took the top flyer award, and Cassandra Heling-Pleshek won the best base award. Mckenzee Stevenson was the most improved, and Bailey Moorman earned the Spirit of the Hawk award.