Area races already shaping up for April election

2 challengers so far for Shawano mayor’s office

Two potential challengers so far have taken out nomination papers for the city of Shawano mayoral seat currently held by Jeanne Cronce.

Jim Oberstein, a mayoral candidate defeated by Cronce in 2016, and former Shawano police chief Ed Whealon both took out papers Friday, the first day to begin collecting signatures to get on the April 3 general election ballot.

Mayoral candidates need to return at least 50 signatures by 5 p.m. on Jan. 2.

Cronce had not yet taken out papers Friday, but the stage appears to be set for a primary election on Feb. 20.

City Attorney Tim Schmid has filed notice that he will not be seeking reelection, but there is at least one other candidate so far looking to fill that position.

Katherine Sloma, who works in the same Shawano law office as Schmid and who has occasionally sat in for him at Common Council meetings, has taken out papers for that post.

Meanwhile, all three alderpersons up for reelection in April — Rhonda Strebel, Lisa Hoffman and Jim Hoeffs — have taken out papers for another two-year term.

Elsewhere, at least two Shawano County Board races seemed to be shaping up Friday.

Former County Board supervisor Mike McClelland has taken out papers for a possible rematch against District 4 Supervisor Aimee Zeinert, who defeated McClelland in 2016. The district includes wards 7 and 8 of the city of Shawano.

Devin Krizan has also taken out papers for a challenge to incumbent District 8 Supervisor Rosetta Stern. The district includes wards 3 and 4 of the town of Wescott.

All 27 County Board seats will be on the ballot in the April 3 election.

Potential candidates have until Jan. 2 to return their papers with at least 20 signatures.

Other municipal and school board seats up for reelection in April, and current incumbents, include:

Town of Wescott — Supervisor 1, Brian Moesch; Supervisor 3, Bruce Duffy Schultz.

Village of Aniwa — Trustee Jeffrey Reissmann.

Village of Birnamwood — Trustees Carol Resch, Vicki Wruck and Don Schmidt.

Village of Bonduel — Trustees Dick Silbert, Shawn Thorne and Luka Zischka.

Village of Bowler — Trustees Mark Kropf, Patty Kropf and Otto Maves.

Village of Cecil — Trustees Ann Walenski, Pat Westcott and Cap Wallrich.

Village of Eland — Trustees Harvey Johnson and Faye Slaney.

Village of Gresham — Trustees Richard Giese, Thomas Madsen and Ethan Schmidt.

Village of Mattoon — Trustees Kim Berger, Charles Reuter and Leland Parmer.

Village of Pulaski — Trustees Bruce Brzeczkowski, Doug Prentice and Robert Van Lannen.

Village of Tigerton — Trustees Cary Robbins, Jeff Koepke and Shawn Much.

Village of Wittenberg — Trustees Renee Switalla, Paul Yaeger and Barbara Buchholz.

Shawano School District — Bruce Milavitz, member-at-large; Al Heins, Area 1; Tyler Schmidt, Area 4.

Bonduel School District — Dale Bergsbaken, Judy Rank.

Gresham School District — Grace Schwefel, Andy Schmidt.

Clintonville School District — Jim Dins, Ben Huber and Laurie Volrath.

Menominee Indian School District — Nanette Corn, Neopit; Karen Washinawatok, South Branch.

Tigerton School District — Bonnie Levandoski, Cary Robbins and Scott Suehring.

Wittenberg School District — Tammy Pestka, Area 2; Kristy Meredith, Area 4; Tammy Wendler, Area 5.

Antigo School District — Mike Boldig, Jeanne Long and Andy Merry.

Bowler School District — Raymond Rigsby, town of Seneca; Jerry Grosskopf, town of Bartelme.

Gillett School District — James Karls and Nanette Mohr.

Marion School District — Dawn Papendorf, Lynn Tober-Steinke and Amie Bodart.

Pulaski School District — Sara Mangold, Zone 5; Mark Wernicke, Zone 2; Brian Vanden Heuvel, member-at-large.

Seymour School District — Laurie Bowers, Zone 3; Paula Rohm, Zone 4.