Swedberg, Yarie, Raddant return to victory lane

VanStraten, Nelson also race to wins

By Scott Owen Special to the Leader

Three former winners made triumphant returns to victory lane for the first time in 2018 as Brett Swedberg (Late Model), Marcus Yarie (IMCA Modified) and Kyle Raddant (IMCA Sport Mod) all notched victories.

Travis VanStraten (IMCA Stock Car) scored his second win in a row and third overall win. Brad Nelson (Mighty Four) may be the hottest racer of late as he won his second feature of the year. In the last three nights of racing, Nelson has two wins and a second-place finish to his credit.

Swedberg got back to his winning ways in the Late Model feature. At the start of the race, Swedberg dropped the hammer and ran away from the rest of the field. By the time eighth-place-starting Nick Anvelink got to second on lap 10, Swedberg had built up a full straight-away lead.

Swedberg masterfully handled lapped traffic and was unchallenged in the caution-free race. Anvelink, Joel Bennett, Joe Reuter and Chris Engels took second through fifth in the race.

In IMCA Modified action, Chucky Forstner and Jerry Muenster battled side by side for the lead on the opening lap. Forstner asserted himself in the top spot on lap two. Forstner held the lead until lap 10 when rookie Brekken Kleinschmidt took to the outside of the track and grabbed the lead.

Yarie followed Kleinschmidt around Forstner into second. Yarie powered his way past Kleinschmidt for the lead on the following lap. Wyatt Block soon passed Kleinschmidt to grab second. In the end, it was Yarie for the win, chased by Block, Kleinschmidt, Lance Arneson and Jerry Wilinski.

In a replay of the last IMCA Stock Car feature, Kurt Olson took the lead on the start and looked tough to beat while running the outside groove of the track. Behind Olson, Dan Michonski and Mitch Stankowski battled for second. At the half way point of the race, it was all Olson as the battle for second began to heat up between Michonski, Stankowski and VanStraten.

Lap 12 would be heartbreak for Olson as he lost power in his ride and was forced to retire. On lap 13, VanStraten and Stankowski battled side by side for the lead. VanStraten would eventually pull ahead. Michonski soon passed Stankowski for second.

Over the final five laps of the race, VanStraten held the lead with Michonski glued to his back bumper. At the end, it was VanStraten scoring the win followed by Michonski. Trent Nolan came home third after starting 22nd on the grid. Harley Simon and Jeremy Christians completed the top five.

Kaden Besaw led the opening lap of the IMCA Sport Mod feature before succumbing to the pressures of Raddant. Raddant took to the high line of the track and looked to ride off into the sunset. Behind Raddant, Bryce Clements, Cole Magnin and Lucas Lamberies jockeyed for position.

Magnin’s night would end though after getting into the outside wall. Lamberies raced to second but was never able to offer a serious challenge for the lead. Raddant would go on to win the race. Lamberies took second, 17th-place-starting Jason Jach finished third, Kevin Bethke fourth and Jordan Bartz fifth.

In Mighty Four action, Jason Hopinka held the early lead before Nelson took over on lap two. Though Calvin Stueck and Max Oreskovich offered Nelson a challenge in the closing laps, Nelson would not be denied.

Racing continues Saturday with Hall of Fame Night. Former track champions Terry Kralovetz and Brian Thielke will be honored. Racing will begin at 6 p.m. Information can be found online at www.shawanocountyfair.net.