No local swimmers advance past sectionals

Witt-Birn places fifth

Leader Staff

Contributed photo The Wittenberg-Birnamwood girls swim team at sectionals included, from left, back row, Isabella Hegewald, Olivia Curley, McKenna Metropulos, Adreonna Bessert, Alexa Chaney and Lauren Bahr; front row, Lainey Dahms, Jalynn Horacek and Christina Thrun.

The fall girls swimming season came to a close Saturday for three local teams after no individual swimmers or relay teams qualified for state while competing at sectionals.

Wittenberg-Birnamwood placed fifth at the Division 2 Ashwaubenon Sectional after scoring 151 points. Clintonville took 11th at the same sectional after scoring 103 points.

The Shawano/Bonduel co-op placed 14th at a tough Division 1 Neenah Sectional after scoring 14 points.

McKenna Metropulos took third in the 100-yard freestyle (56.59 seconds) and fourth in the 500-yard freestyle (5:40.31) to lead Witt-Birn. She also helped form the fourth-place 200 medley relay (1:57.42) and 400 freestyle relay (3:58.45) teams with Lauren Bahr, Christina Thrun and Isabella Hegewald.

Bahr came in sixth in the 100 backstroke (1:06.28) and ninth in the 100 freestyle (58.29).

Hegewald took seventh in the 100 breaststroke (1:14.23), while Thrun placed eighth in the 200 IM (2:34.06).

Clintonville was led by senior Sami Smejkal, who finished third in the 200 IM (2:21.84) and fourth in the 100 butterfly (1:03.45). Brianna Foth placed sixth in the 200 freestyle (2:08.69) and seventh in the 500 freestyle (5:46.26).

Smejkal and Foth were also part of the eighth-place finishing Truckers’ 400 freestyle relay (4:14.47) and 10th-place 200 freestyle relay (1:53.4).

Willow Skar and Kelli Smith filled out the 200 freestyle relay, while Smith and Isabella Koeppen formed the rest of the 400 freestyle relay.

Isabel Colon was the top individual finisher for the Shawano/Bonduel co-op, placing 19th in the 100 butterfly (1:13.32). Gabi Bukowski took 22nd in the 200 freestyle (2:25.79).

The 200 freestyle relay team of Colon, Madi Hanson, Elizabeth Dillenburg and Macy Monfils posted a time of 1:56.28 to place 13th.